The following tutorial provides an overview of the major changes in Directo's new document system. The goal for the future is to move all documents to the new document view system.
New system is only available with Edge and Chrome browsers.
All documents with the new system now have a new status: draft. When creating a new document or editing a saved document, the document is no longer edited directly, but is drafted and changes are made to the draft. Draft can be modified without the fear of affecting the original document.
The current status of the document is shown in the upper left corner after the document name, the statuses are:
When creating a new document, a new document is not created immediately, but a draft of the new document is. Each user has one draft for new document, it means that when creating a new document is stopped (hasn't been discarded, saved or deleted) and a new documents is created later, the previous draft will open. As with a saved document, “Discard” will delete the changes and the draft will become the new saved document after pressing “Save”. It is not possible to delete a new document with the “delete” button, as only the draft exists. Creating a copy of another document uses the same draft and may overwrite changes made previously.
There can currently be only one draft of a document at a time. If a user is currently modifying a document and has created a draft, others will not be able to edit the document at the same time. However, draft can be taken over from another user, if needed. If a document that already has a draft from another user is opened, a notification with a “Take draft over” button opens at the top right of the document to take over the draft. Once a draft has been taken over, the original owner of the draft cannot change it.
Any changes to the draft are automatically saved in the database, after changing the fields, the window can be closed and reopened later, and the changes made to the draft are still there, without using the “Save” button. “Save” button is used only to apply the changes made to the draft to the original document.
Document views with the new system are based on the principle that the end user should be able to customise the view to their best convenience and liking. All customisations in a specific document view are automatically saved to the database and are user-specific.